Choose Your Judges

Take the Quiz


Michigan’s Supreme Court has seven justices. Currently there are four Republican justices and three Democratic justices. Michigan conducts non-partisan judicial elections; although the candidates are nominated by their respective parties, their party affiliation does not show up on the ballot. There are two seats up for election in 2020: Chief Justice McCormack is running for re-election, and there is an open seat due to a retirement by a Republican justice. The two candidates who receive the highest number of votes will win seats on the court.

Chief Justice Bridget Mary McCormack (D) has been on the court since 2012, and she became Chief Justice in 2019.

Mary Kelly (R) is an attorney with thirty years experience as a prosecutor.

Elizabeth Welch (D) is an attorney with twenty-five years of practice experience.

Judge Brock Swartzle (R) was appointed to a Michigan appellate court in 2017 by Republican Governor Rick Snyder.

Choose Your Judges is a non-partisan organization dedicated to increasing voter awareness in judicial elections. If you have any comments or feedback about the site, please let us know.