Choose Your Judges

Take the Quiz


Ohio’s Supreme Court has seven justices. Currently there are five Republican justices and two Democratic justices. Justices serve a six year term. In 2020, two justices are up for re-election. Judicial election primaries are partisan, which means that each major party selects one candidate to run in the general election, but judicial general elections are non-partisan, which means that the candidates’ party affiliation does not appear on the general election ballot.

Justice Judith French (R) has been on the Court since 2013. She is being challenged by Judge Jennifer Brunner (D), a judge on the Tenth District Court of Appeals.

Justice Sharon Kennedy (R) has been on the Court since 2012. She is being challenged by Judge John O’Donnell (D), a judge on the Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas.

Choose Your Judges is a non-partisan organization dedicated to increasing voter awareness in judicial elections. If you have any comments or feedback about the site, please let us know.